Randy Rawson Scholarship Program

2021 Rawson Scholarship Application Deadline - April 16th

Click here to download the application

Purpose & Scope
The Randy Rawson Scholarship Program was created for the Promotion of Careers in Boiler Engineering and Fabrication. A special fund has been set aside to the support scholarship program and is operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The specific purpose of the Fund is to support post-secondary education and/or training of graduating high school students pursuing careers in the commercial, institutional, industrial or power-generating boiler, combustion and related equipment industry through educational scholarships. The number and amount of scholarships awarded is determined by the ABMA Board of Directors each year in which scholarships are offered. In 2020, the ABMA awarded twelve (12) scholarships and has given out over $200,000 since inception.

An eligible student is enrolled in or have been accepted by an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning or similarly-accredited community college, vocational or trade/technical school and has a high school diploma or General Education Development (GED).  The applicant must be a relative of an employee of an ABMA member company in good standing or sponsored by an ABMA member company. Additional eligibility criteria is included in the application materials. No applicant for a Fund scholarship shall be discriminated against on the basis of sex, race, religion, national origin, sexual orientation or citizenship.
 Click Here for Updates from 2019 Recipients
2020 Recipients

Lauren Coolbaugh – Mechanical Engineering – Western Kentucky University
Sponsored by WARE

Garrett Diesing – Mechanical Engineering - University of Toledo
Sponsored by Detroit Stoker Company

Megan Herrington - Chemical Engineering - University of Tulsa
Sponsored by Nationwide Boiler

Carley Holcomb – Mathematics/Computer Science – Michigan State
Sponsored by Maxitrol Company

Paul Kolbus - Mechanical Engineering Technology- Cleveland State
Sponsored by Clark-Reliance

Erich Langstine – Mechanical Engineering - North Carolina State 
Sponsored by Zeeco

Joseph Mosbey - Mechanical Engineering - Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by Applied Heat Recovery

Nolan Persyn - Mechanical Engineering - Texas A&M
Sponsored by Nationwide Boiler

Tyler Shippy - Computer Engineering - Texas A&M
Sponsored by CECO Peerless

Walker Shippy - Mechanical Engineering - Texas A&M
Sponsored by CECO Peerless

Ethan Venegoni - Engineering - Abilene Christian University
Sponsored by Applied Heat Recovery

Emily Wolf - Supply Chain Management/Business - Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
Sponsored by WARE